I believe god wants you to know

Posted on December 6, 2010

13


This is straying from what I usually cover on search insights but I found this so intriguing that I had to post it.  Below is a screenshot of a Google results page that appears when you type ‘gmail’ into the search box.  Look at the bottom left sitelink.  Weird eh?  No where on the Gmail homepage does it have a link saying ‘I believe god wants you to know’ which is where the sitelinks are normally generated so I’m completely stumped as to how this turned up here.  A quick Google search didn’t reveal anyone else had spotted this either?  Any suggestions welcomed.

Update… 07 Dec 2010

John Mueller from Google has recently contacted this blog to say the sitelink is now fixed (see comments below).  I’m  still confused as to why it would ever have appeared there (although I have a theory that Google was  crawling certain gmail accounts inadvertently).  Any suggestions welcomed in the comments below.

Posted in: search anomalies