The most asked questions on Google

Despite the demise of Ask Jeeves, many people still search the internet using questions.  I like these people as it’s easy to tell what the intent behind a search is.  Also, when a search is phrased as a question e.g. If someone searches for ‘how big is the moon?’ then we can make a pretty good guess as to the information they’re after and can make content that satisfies that demand however if someone just types ‘big moon’ they may want to know the size of the moon but equally they could just want to know what makes a moon appear big in the night sky.

I’ve been doing a little digging around using Hitwise data to find out what are the most asked questions online and what percentage of total searches are questions (does it vary from someone looking for recipes to someone looking for science information).  I used Hitwise data and my attempt at visualising all of this is below. (click on the image to make it bigger).

The most asked questions on the internet
The intent behind these searches is crystal clear

23 thoughts on “The most asked questions on Google

  1. Hi, this is great info, as I love collecting anomalous info! lol and it does give me some ideas for my question and answer site, oh well we all have to make a dollar! lol thanks Nell Rose

  2. Took me time for you to check out all the notes, but I truly enjoyed the article. It’s usually great when you can not just be informed, but additionally engaged! I’m certain you had enjoyable writing this write-up.

  3. Hi

    Thanks for this post as it gives me some great information. I write a blog at soulsnet.com and I always begin the post with a Question and Answer.

    I’m interested to see if that is a good format for visibility in search engines. I am very new to blogging and pretty hopeless technically, so I shall be intereted to research this more fully.

    Corinne at soulsnet.com

  4. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks!

  5. Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

